Sunday, May 28, 2023
Home European Commission Protest by 12 EU countries against new Ukrainian export rules

Protest by 12 EU countries against new Ukrainian export rules

Twelve EU countries, including the Netherlands, have warned of new market disruptions due to the new import ban on four Ukrainian agricultural products in five neighboring EU countries.

The twelve LNV ministers thus join the growing criticism of the 'hasty' EU decisions to support Ukraine with 'overland corridors' for their grain exports and with the abolition of import tariffs and quotas for numerous Ukrainian products .

In a protest letter to the European Commission, the twelve countries speak of panic measures taken unilaterally by Brussels with which the EU ended border blockades by angry farmers in Poland, Bulgaria and Romania.

Because grain transport by rail to Polish ports is slowly starting up, but export road transport freely enters the EU from day one, the 'frontline states' are complaining about price dumping.

The twelve EU member states warned the European Commission of a significant disruption to the internal market. A joint letter has been signed by France, Germany, the Netherlands, Ireland, Greece, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Luxembourg, Estonia, Denmark and Slovenia. 

Those countries also feel ignored by the European Commission's unilateral transit agreement. The import ban in the five neighboring countries was also criticized last week by Ukrainian President Zelensky at his meeting with EU committee chair Ursula von der Leyen in Kiev. Zelensky called for the restrictions to be lifted as soon as possible. 

Chairman Norbert Lins of the European Parliament's Agriculture Committee said a week ago that the EU had acted rashly with the customs exemption for the Ukrainians. Hungary is now threatening again with unilateral measures against Ukraine, with which the EU-critical Prime Minister Viktor Orban is once again clamping down on Brussels. 

Agriculture Commissioner Wojciechowski earlier this week hinted at the possibility that some customs and quota restrictions could be reintroduced on June 5, probably especially for poultry exports.

The current scheme will initially apply until 5 June. It is the intention that this will be extended, especially because the Russians continue to make it difficult to allow grain transports through the Black Sea.


UN envoy warns COP26 environmental summit could fail

UN climate chief Patricia Espinosa warns that the world climate conference COP26, next week in Glasgow, could fail. The conference chair, the...

Europoliticians and FinMin's still disagree on European budget plans

The European Parliament's Committee on Budgets and the EU finance ministers have had no...

Jan Huitema (VVD) chairman EU liberals genetic biotechnology

The Dutch VVD MEP Jan Huitema has been appointed by the liberal Renew group as chairman of a working group to formulate a...

World food prices 28% higher; back to record high after ten years

World food prices rose 28 percent last year to the highest level in the past ten years. According to the food agency...

France comes with a substantial subsidy for support for its own pig farms

French Agriculture Minister Julien Denormandie has allocated 270 million euros in subsidy to support the French pig industry. He also goes the...

Just in

Twitter evades EU code of conduct; harbinger of departure ?

The social media platform Twitter, owned by American billionaire Elon Musk, is leaving the European Union's voluntary code of conduct against disinformation on…

Livestock farming also under stricter EU rules against air pollution

The European Parliament's Environment Committee has further weakened the proposal to bring many more livestock farms under stricter RIE emission standards. 

Fuss about statements by Belgian Prime Minister against nature restoration

Statements by Belgian Prime Minister Alexander De Croo have sparked controversy in the Belgian political system because the national Prime Minister...

Timmermans urges EU politicians to the agri negotiating table

EU Climate Commissioner Frans Timmermans has told Members of Parliament of the Agriculture Committee that he wants to sit down with the Netherlands to make it very clear...

Agriculture and environmental clubs want real change in Mercosur

An umbrella of dozens of European and South American agricultural clubs and environmental and development organizations urge the European Commission in a joint manifesto ...