Wednesday, February 8, 2023
Home EU European countries on the way to expanding EU and Schengen region

European countries on the way to expanding EU and Schengen region

The EU ministers of the interior will make decisions next week about the admission of two or three new EU member states, and about the expansion of the Schengen area. Earlier, France and the Netherlands, among others, opposed the expansion of the EU.

Those two countries believed that the current Union should first reorganize and modernize itself before admitting newcomers. It is unclear whether the Russian war against Ukraine has changed the way people think about this. 

The European Parliament believes that not only Moldova and Ukraine should become candidate members, but also Bosnia and Herzegovina. The Europoliticians do think that the admission criteria should be changed: negotiations must be completed within six years, and interim criminal sanctions must also be possible.

The MPs see the enlargement policy as the strongest geopolitical asset of the EU, especially given the growing threat from Russia. Countries wishing to join can already align their foreign and security policies with those of the EU. Some do too.

However, MEPs are critical of Serbia, which is not participating in the EU sanctions against Russia. According to MEP Tineke Strik (GroenLinks), the Russian aggression has 'rightly' led to a greater desire for EU expansion. 

The Netherlands remains against Bulgaria's accession to the free travel area within Europe, the Schengen area. However, Romania and Croatia are ready to be admitted. According to Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte, Bulgaria does not yet meet the conditions for allowing Bulgarians to travel through the EU countries without passport checks. 

Rutte called the decision to admit Romania now "a big step", after the Netherlands had blocked their admission to the Schengen arrangement for years. The European Commission and the European Parliament believe that all three EU countries have adhered to the agreements made in the past.

On December 8, the issue will be discussed at the meeting of the EU ministers of justice and home affairs. Unanimity is required for votes on both the admission of new Schengen countries and the expansion of the EU.


Strike at P&O affects ferry services between English and European ports

Freight transport between England and mainland Europe is disrupted by a strike at the ferry services of the British P&O Ferries.

EU: stricter criteria against emissions from livestock farming only affects major polluters

European Climate Commissioner Frans Timmermans says that the new emission standards against air pollution will have hardly any consequences for most livestock farms.

Boycott of Russian oil and gas costs billions from agricultural fund

The European Union will stop importing almost all Russian oil at the end of this year. Only Hungary and Slovakia are allowed to…

Mainly criticism of vague rules for halving fertilizer in agriculture

European politicians and agricultural organizations react hesitantly to the European Commission's proposals to halve the use of chemical...

Irish dairy and agriculture must significantly reduce nitrogen emissions

Ireland's ruling coalition party leaders have reached an agreement to reduce nitrogen emissions from the agricultural sector. Irish...

Just in

EU adheres to animal welfare and a ban on long-distance transport

Despite protests from a dozen EU countries, EU Commissioner Stella Kyriakides is sticking to her proposal to expand and modernize European animal welfare policy....

EU crisis fund open to duped farmers in countries neighboring Ukraine

Six Eastern European EU countries have again asked the European Commission for support against the market distortions caused by Ukrainian agricultural exports. It expires...

The Netherlands does not yet support EU law against air pollution from livestock farming

In principle, the Netherlands takes a positive view of the European proposal to limit environmental pollution from livestock farming. The Netherlands also believes that the emissions...

Residues of glyphosate have not only been discovered in rural areas

Medical research in Irish families has shown that one in four people had residue of the herbicide glyphosate in their bodies. The...

Brussels threatens EU countries with fines for lax approach to environmental pollution

The European Commission is threatening to take six EU countries to the highest EU court because they do not do enough about soil and air pollution.